Political thuggery with obamacare

soup nazi posterThe Soup Nazi is the theme of the day today (previous post here). According to this piece (from the WSJ) HHS secretary Kathleen Sibelius has sent a “No More Soup For You” letter to the America’s Health Insurance Plans industry trade group warning them about blaming obamacare for raising insurance premiums. Even our dear comrade leader has admitted they knew all along that some of the provisions of the health care boot-to-the-face would cause premiums to rise. But the evil insurance companies are not supposed to tell their customers why. In other words, just take the BOHICA and shut up or no soup for you! Sheeesh.

‘As a consequence of us getting 30 million additional people health care, at the margins that’s going to increase our costs—we knew that,” President Obama said at his press conference Friday in response to a question about rising health spending.

That wasn’t how he sold the plan, but, anyway, that’s a truism. Here’s another: The White House was always going to blame insurance companies for any cost increases, even when its own policies cause them.

Witness Kathleen Sebelius’s Thursday letter to America’s Health Insurance Plans, the industry trade group—a thuggish message even by her standards. The Health and Human Services secretary wrote that some insurers have been attributing part of their 2011 premium increases to ObamaCare and warned that “there will be zero tolerance for this type of misinformation and unjustified rate increases.”

Zero tolerance for expressing an opinion, or offering an explanation to policyholders? They’re more subtle than this in Caracas.

What Ms. Sebelius really means is that the government will prohibit insurers from doing business if reality is not politically convenient for Democrats. ObamaCare includes a slew of mandated benefits for next year, such as allowing children to remain on their parents’ plans until age 26 and “free” preventative care (i.e., no direct out-of-pocket cost sharing for consumers). The tone of Ms. Sebelius’s letter suggests that she doesn’t understand that money is exchanged for goods and services, and that if Congress mandates new benefits, premiums will rise.

So let me get this straight. The regime admits that they knew obamacare was going to cause premiums to rise, but if the insurance companies tell their customers, the regime will punish them? Sounds like a scene out of Kafka.

ObamaCare gives Ms. Sebelius’s regulators the power to define “unreasonable” premium hikes, which will mean whatever they decide it will mean later this fall. She promised to keep a list of insurers “with a record of unjustified rate increases” and then to bar them from ObamaCare’s subsidized “exchanges” when they come on line in 2014. In other words, insurers must accept price controls now or face the retribution of a de facto ban on selling their products to consumers four years from now.

This is nasty stuff and an obvious attempt to shift political blame for rising insurance costs before the election. It’s also an early sign of life under ObamaCare, when all health-care decisions are political and the bureaucrats decide who can charge how much for a service or product.

Democrats built this system and they now own it politically. The least they could do is take credit for its consequences.

Is it any wonder that the politicians who crafted and passed this economy-killing boot-to-the-face are not mentioning it (or claiming that they voted against it) in their re-election campaigns? This monster needs to be repealed.

5 Responses to “Political thuggery with obamacare”

  1. Thanks for the kind words, Mr. Morb. I visited your site and found it quite interesting and unique. I have added it to my blog roll.

    “Mook” was a catch-all term used by my father (bless his soul, I miss him a lot). It could be positive or negative depending on usage. It was a part of his daily vernacular so I just adopted it. Here are some examples:
    (Referring to my brother and I): “And what are you two mooks up to today?”
    (negative): “Well everybody seems to get it except that mook over there.”
    (positive): “I’m going fishing with a couple of mooks from work.”

    When I started working in my current job, I used the term in casual conversation and my buddies liked it so they started calling me “The Mook.” I tried getting the name for my blog but it was already taken so I became “Da Mook.”

    How about you? What’s up with “The Morb?”

    • Good to see ya !!! … I just realized today that you added me to your blogroll … When I sent the first comment , I thought you didn’t accept it … Glad ya did … I’m looking forward to further interesting reads …

      As for the Morb … Many many years ago ! … When my buddies and I were in our 20’s … One particular character blew into the small town of Bolton , Ontario where we were jammin’ and partying .. And gave us all nicknames …

      He , rather quickly in retrospect , rode off into the sunset … And I haven’t heard of him in close to 30 years …

      However , all the nicknames stuck to this day !!! …

      The ‘ Morb ‘ is a play on my last name , Morton …Usually condensed to ‘ Morty ‘ , but he , for some reason put the ‘ b ‘ in there for ‘ Morby ‘ … It then got quickly condensed to ‘ Morb ‘ … Hence ‘ The Morb ‘ …

      So there ya have it ! …

      I shall now carry on reading your recent posts …

      • Did you say jammin’? One of my favorite pastimes. Drums, a little guitar and some keyboards. How ’bout you?

      • Bass player … Love all the old late 60’s early 70’s prog rock and the fusion jazz … Open to many styles as I get older tho … Unfortunately … Don’t get to spend the time I used to with it … The daily grind ( as well as fellow musicians dealing with their own families ) kinda put it on the back burner … Where it’s been simmering so long it’s pretty much evaporated !!! …

        Click on ‘ The Greedy Man Charlie Project ‘ in my blog for a little more info …

  2. I stumbled across your blog as I was browsing thru the few I have links with … A very enjoyable read ! … I shall have to add you to my list … I tend to use artwork and photos to get my points across … While you articulate your thoughts in word … But we seem to be on the same page on many topics …

    I also started out my blog with the Black Letterhead theme that you are currently using … I shall visit often …

    BTW … what’s the ‘ mook ‘ all about ?

Leave a Reply

