Avatar was a good movie, but…

avatar movie

Blueface good, paleface bad - very bad

Finally got around to seeing Avatar. I had seen a few 3D movies in the past but they were mostly crap. They generally had bad story lines and employed hokey scenes designed to emphasize the 3d effect.

Avatar was certainly miles above what I had seen before. The visuals were simply outstanding and the 3d was tastefully done. Overall it was some excellent eye candy.

Unfortunately (for me, anyway) the story and some of the characters were simply awful. The storyline was laden with cliches and I quickly grew tired of the whole cowboys and indians shtick. I almost left near the end because of this. Another turnoff was some of the acting. I don’t know if it was the script or the directing but Sigourney Weaver’s character was a joke. An even bigger joke was the evil Colonel Quaritch, played to almost cartoon character quality by Stephen Lang. The whole thing was very predictable hogwash – blueface good, paleface very bad. Ugh…

I’m glad I saw this, though. I would give it 7 stars out of 10 – just for the eye candy.

2 Responses to “Avatar was a good movie, but…”

  1. Thanks for the comment. Your review is spot on…

  2. Not to mention the fact that most of the story was stolen from the tale of Pocahontas.

    http://passportforthesoul.wordpress.com/2010/01/08/avatar-a-plagiarized-pocahontas/

    I do agree though, despite its shortcomings it’s still certainly worth a watch.

Leave a Reply

