Here’s what public sector unions think about you, the taxpayer

Here’s a story from John Stossel on the attitude of public unions towards you, the taxpayer. I would say that this is pretty typical.

Albany Police Officers Union President Chris Mesley says that, regardless of the faltering economy, a no-raise new contract is unacceptable.

And to hell with the public.

“I’m not running a popularity contest here,” Mesley said. “If I’m the bad guy to the average citizen . . . and their taxes have go up to cover my raise, I’m very sorry about that, but I have to look out for myself and my membership.”
Mesley added: “As the president of the local, I will not accept ‘zeroes.’ If that means . . . ticking off some taxpayers, then so be it.”

So he’s unconcerned that taxpayers will be “ticked off” by this? It would be nice to see some spine on the other side of the bargaining table here (where the “bargains” always seem to go one way) but I wouldn’t count on it. The government will cave like it always does and this guy is counting on it…

Leave a Reply

