Tech Notes

Firefox 3.6 released

If you don’t use Firefox, I would strongly recommend that you give it a try. I have been using it for a couple of years and used to use Internet Explorer only because Firefox didn’t handle online forms the way I liked. So if I was shopping, I used IE otherwise it was Firefox. About 6 months ago Firefox got its forms handling act together and I haven’t used IE since. I love it! Here are just a few reasons to try Firefox:

  • It is extremely fast – blows IE out of the water. Version 3.6 is amazing!
  • Highly customizable – you can change the look and feel quickly and easily.
  • Add-ons and Plug-ins – add all kinds of additional functionality. Almost all are free.
  • Stability – virtually no lockups or crashes.
  • Safety – the vast majority of hacks and attacks are against IE, not Firefox.

Once you try it, you may never go back to IE…

===========================================================

Network Hell:

Had a Linksys WRT54G wireless router for 4 years without a single issue – it was great. However, after upgrading to Windows 7 on my desktop, I discovered that Win7 doesn’t play nice with WindowsXP. Since my wife’s laptop was on WinXP, I needed a router with a USB port to connect an external drive so we could continue to share photos and music.

I bought a Linksys WRT160NL because it does Wireless-N and it has a USB port. BIG mistake – this thing is a worthless POS and Linksys customer “service” is worthless. After one week it started dropping the internet connection about twice a week. After a month it was locking up my cable modem daily. Multiple sessions with Linksys customer dis-service went nowhere so I decided to replace it, figuring that I just got a bad router. I’m now on my second WRT160NL and while it generally maintains a stable internet connection, it rarely keeps the other computers in the house on the network. Every time someone else wants to print or access the shared drive, I have to reset the bloody router. I’m done with this POS! I just ordered a different router.

2 Responses to “Tech Notes”

  1. I’ve been off the Firefox bandwagon for the last 6 months or so due to bloat and instability, and have been test driving Chrome. Have you compared FF3.6 to Chrome lately?

    • I tried Chrome about a year ago and didn’t like it. I might just give it another try but I’m in an anti-Google mood right now – I don’t care for their injecting politics into their business model (more here).
      Actually the last couple of Firefox versions have been very stable and fast. Can’t say that I’ve seen much bloat either.

Leave a Reply

